Windows Vista Beta 2 Available for Public Download - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2006, 09:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default Windows Vista Beta 2 Available for Public Download

download the public beta now

article:
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=2759

download:
http://download.windowsvista.com/pre....dailytech.com
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

so will we need activation? can we use it longer than 2 weeks?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

presume you can use it till vistas release, and u`ll get an activationkey probably, I havnt finished downloading it yet.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Yeah its going slow for me. Normally I download 800-1200kb/sec+ from MS servers...but it's only going about 200kb for me. like 5 hours left
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 09:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

How big is this download? the ISO it self? the download is done in a couple of minutes.

then i try to mount the image and get not a win32 application...? Last time I got that was installing C&C which I had to install in safe mode because of copy protection.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 10:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

I have cebridge, they suck ive got a 1mb line and i dl at 40kbps ... i call them and they say im only allowed 30mb every 10 mins then i get 250kb connection speed for 30mins then if i do it again they shut off my internet for the rest of the month. Is that even legal? I hate cebridge ( NEVER GO CEBRIDGE IM STUCK WITH THEM, im poor and the only internet in town) anyways if i ever get it dled ill be happy to see how unstable vista is
harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 11:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

the file is 4109.73 for me...im downloading the 64 bit version. I just made a 21gb partition to try this out on...
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Good freaking luck. I have tried to download it like six times, three with Firefox, three with their downloader. None of them completes. Their downloader can't continue, and FF says the download is complete, but the max it got was 4.5MB of it.

I guess their servers are slammed.

Why didn't they just release it with a torrent option?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Im downloading right now with FlashGet. Ive downloaded 31mb at about 234kbs which is really good for my internet. With FF downloader i get aroudn 120. Im going to put this on another computer i have at home and try it out, we shall see how well it runs on that.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 02:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

This is the first MS pre-release product i actually won't download
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.