Windows Vista 64-bit support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to DrewJones564
Default Windows Vista 64-bit support

Well I guess it is time to get windows vista..and when looking at the different versions that are out there I was looking through the 64-bit versions and seen the screen that tells you how to check if you have the ablity to run 64-bit and it showed that I did not...yet when I bought my computer parts and built my computer about 8 months ago I bought this CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116198

Can someone tell me whats up?

FYI - I'm running on Windows XP Home - 32 bit right now.
__________________

DrewJones564 is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

That processor isn't 64-bit.

Vista won't have drivers for 64-bit anyways.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 06:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It is a 64Bit processor. I have read up on all the stuff and it is a 64Bit. It probably just doesnt register.

Also Vista does have 64 Bit drivers. It has as many as XP has and a few more. But it doesnt have nearly as many as the 32Bit version.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to DrewJones564
Default

so is it really worth it to investigate the problem and get the 64-bit version, or is the 32-bit just as nice?
DrewJones564 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 04:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

32 Bit is just as nice. I think you would be better off right now with 32 Bit since you have more hardware and driver support.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Believe it or not, 32-bit is still standard. This is largely due to backwards compatibility with older software and hardware. Like XP, there is a 64-bit version for certain uses and applications, but gamers and home users in general have no real reason to use it at this time. Vista is supposed to be the last version of Windows before it goes completely 64-bit.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.