Windows Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2007, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Default Windows Vista

What is equivalent to Windows XP Professional in Windows Vista family?
which vista version should i need to buy?
__________________

learnoracle is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista

Home Premium if you want the Media Center. Business Edition if you do not. Other than that there is no need to go for Ultimate.

Business Edition doesnt have the MCE part but it does have great Networking abilties. While Home Premium does have MCE part but the networking is a bit more difficult to get used to.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 02:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Windows Vista

will you be building a new pc? or using a slightly older machine?

I would say if you have some extra $ go with Ultimate. It includes extra driver support for older machine's. If your building a new one, Ultimate Edition include's BitLocker Drive Encryption, for added security. Also, just as with XP Home and Pro, Pro just seemed to work a bit better at times then Home.
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Windows Vista

Its outrageously stupid that you have to choose. MS should just sell ultimate...just like they should have just sold xp pro.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Windows Vista

if M$ were to do that, then they wouldn't be a very smart Corporation.
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 02:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Windows Vista

Yeah, because forcing everyone to pay the higher price wouldn't make them any money...

Oh, wait, Yes it would.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to dishman
Default Re: Windows Vista

I like to think they did it so people can accidentally buy the wrong one and then have to buy another copy.

Either that or:

They did it for all of the people out there who feel like they don't want to upgrade because it will be too overwhelming. They just started to learn how to use xp and they just cant see changing to this huge new OS. So by creating "lower" levels of vista people will feel that it will have less things to confuse them and that it will be easier to learn. Hence the whole "choose the version thats just right for you" marketing ply on the vista site. It makes people feel safe that they wont be getting in over their heads. Which in the long run gets more people to buy Vista sooner. Because we all know it will end up on every new computer anyways.

haha unless people start buying the new ubuntu dells.
dishman is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Windows Vista

They did it so they can charge extra to get full functionality out of your product. The pricetag on ultimate is way too high for an average OS. Its all about $$$. Cheap marketing scheme.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 04:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default Re: Windows Vista

true, the marketing these days is enough to drive ppl insane and just decide, i'll take that one!
ECTech is offline  
Old 07-02-2007, 06:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows Vista

The only difference between Ultimate and any others is the Extras. Aside from the things i mentioned above. Mainly the MC. Ultimate Extras are few and far between. Dreamscene is only a animated desktop. There are applicaitons out there for XP that do this. The Hold 'Em Poker is a nice game but not necessary. The BitLocker doesnt work right without that update from the Extras. So it would even be pointless.

Plus with the BitLocker if you format, or forget your password all the info is GONE. No way to recover it at all. Not even thru 3rd party software. Yeah that makes a lot of sense.

Home Premium is just fine. Business is also a good way to go if you dont want the Media Center. Other than that Ultimate is not worth the extra $$. There is nothing in Ultimate that equals the extra $$ you have to spend. At all. There is not even gonna be more Extras till the end of summer if not later. So that still makes the Extras not worth it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vienna re-codenamed Windows Mesa ??? Joe Li Off Topic Discussion 30 08-31-2007 05:09 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.