Which windows version is the best one to use today?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2006, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 79
Default Which windows version is the best one to use today??

Which windows version is the best one to use today??

Windows XP MCE, Windows 64, or etc.???????

I want something that can play all my games without problems and best performance. Have good driver support for all the hardware and software that I use.

Advice would be greatly appreicated, thank you
__________________

Comptech is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

Currently, XP Pro or Home. I suggest Home because it's cheaper. There's not a huge difference between the two, so just go with the cheaper of the two.

In January '07 (or later, who knows) when Vista comes out, that will be the best. It'll have DX10 support.
__________________

__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

this question is being ask at least twice a day. search the forum for the answer

http://www.techist.com/search.php
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
The Napster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my car
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to The Napster Send a message via MSN to The Napster
Default

MCE its basically pro whith addons. Definalty not 64 bit, it may be faster but next to nothing is compatiable. Wait for vista.

(for those of you who thought this said home, your right it did, but i meant pro, i dont kno what I was thinking when i typed it)
__________________
DFI infinity RS 482
3Gig Corsair PC 3200
AMD X2 4400+ 2.4ghz
250Gig Samsung SATA 3.0 7200rpm
250Gig Hatachi SATA 3.0 7200 rpm
60Gig Maxtor ATA 5400 rpm
2x160Gig WD SATA 7200 rpm RAID-0
ATI X850XT 256mb
Antec TruePower 430
The Napster is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Napster
MCE its basically home whith addons.
pro
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
little_emmynem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: India BOMBAY
Posts: 155
Send a message via Yahoo to little_emmynem
Default

Go for Windows XP Professional Or Home Edition ONLY. Windows Vista is out of bounds. It is very uuhhhh......full of problems. Let the Vista STable Release Come. I Have had a very BAD EXPERIENCE
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 @ 2.00 GHZ
ASUS P5LD2 -VM Motherboard
SEAGATE FreeAgent Pro 500GB External HDD
SEAGATE Barracuda 160 GB SATA 7200 RPM
NVIDIA GeForce 8 Series - 8500GT 256MB
ASUS lightscribe Dual-layer DVD burner
SAMSUNG DVD/CD-RW Combo Drive
SAMSUNG 17" LCD/TFT Monitor
SAMSUNG ml-1610 Monochrome Printer
SONY MD RECIEVER
iBall iTower Cabinet with 400W ATX SMPS
TRANSEND 2x1 GB DDR2 667 MHZ RAM
little_emmynem is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Napster
MCE its basically home whith addons. Definalty not 64 bit, it may be faster but next to nothing is compatiable. Wait for vista.
MCE is built upon pro its not home with adons i would deffinetly get MCE it has all the features of pro with the added media center features.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it dont have all the features of pro as you cant connect it to a domain unless you do some reg hackn
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

ya and eric posed how to add it to a domain so basically everything that pro has MCE has. im not aware of any other features it lacks.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 79
Default

is it a good idea to install windows 64?
__________________

Comptech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.