windows updates changing my IP address - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 11:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default windows updates changing my IP address

I would love to keep my version of windows up to date, but doing so keeps me from using the internet.

I didn't update to SP2, so it's not the firewall, it's not my 3rd party firewall (I figured that one out earlier). It's the fact the my modem/homeportal/router assigns the IP address to the computers in my network and the recent windows updates automatically give me a private assigned 162 address. I cannot change this private assigned address without either doing a system restore or uninstalling the updates.

How would I go about keeping my updates and changing my windows private assigned address to a modem network assigned address,which is a 192 address? I have talked to the DSL tech 3's and the modem's tech 3's on this issue, and they could not change it, their way of fixing it?... reinstall windows completely, LOL.

Windows XP SP1 most recent updates until the last 4 security patches (that's where they start messing with my IP address)
SBC DSL Pro speed
SBC 2wire homeportal modem/router connected by ethernet

I know this could be in the internet forum, but it's the service pack updates (windows software and os) that are causing the problem.
__________________

ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 260
Default

the 162 address is the address windows gives you when it cannot find a proper ip to assign you.

Check and make sure your DHCP service is enabled and started in services.msc (start->run)
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ (Overclocked to 3300+)
ASUS K8V-Deluxe
1GB PC3200 DDR
2x200GB Seagate SATA RAID 0
BFG 6800GT OC w\\128MB Ram
2x 19\" Samsung 930B LCDs
jinexile is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Well, wouldn't the DHCP service work fine now? I mean, I did a restore and the modem assigned my IP like it should. Or does the windows updates mess with the DHCP settings when I install those certain updates? Or why would installing the updates mess with the DHCP?

I'll check those settings here in a few.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

leave windows updates alone. that what I did when I had this problem.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.