Windows Updates Causes boot problems.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Echo Kilo

Baseband Member
Alright, Last night Win XP pro had auto downloaded the latest update from MS. I have my OS set to 'auto download, but let me install'. So I was notified of the update.

Right before I when to bed, I installed the update. When I got the 'windows needs to restart to finish the update' I shut down my computer and went to sleep. Today my system won't boot.

My system hangs after "Verifying DMI Pool Data.... Update Success" so I'm not given an option to start in safe mode. So I don't really have an easy way to rollback the 'update'.

But I don't think the 'update' itself is the problem, seems like something corrupted the boot sector during the update? Don't know.

I can boot to the CD and access files on the C: drive, just can't boot to it. Drive sounds healthy and I bought this drive as a replacement after my last episode in November... so I've been working without problems for 4 months or so.

Any ideas on how to approach this problem? I would really like to avoid another complete system re-install if at all possible.

Not sure what that means. If you are talking about restore, check out my first post about what's going on. It doesn't have that option.

last know good config is on the safe mode menu ...when u hit F8 there are a few selections to choose from...so try last know good configuration..i dunno if it'll work or not..i would try a system restore..