Windows Updates?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default Windows Updates??

Hi,

Can anuone help me please?

I have tried everything to access microsoft windows updates and still cannot get the updates for xp.

Can i get the updates any other way.

phil
__________________

philghost is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

No you can't unless you manually update from there site. Did you activate your copy of XP, is it a "real" copy, do you have spyware, are you using IE, can you give me some more info?
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default

I am not using spy and my xp is oem and i have a licence number.
I use AOL to search.

Thanks for your reply

phil
philghost is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

This is a link from windows download center. It is search results
for ALL XP updates with the MOST RECENT starting first.

Now I use this to directly download updates to my pc because I
dont like using windows update and I have dialup.

This is slow compared to checking all the updates you want and
installing directly from Microsoft at once but I prefer this method
because I can read/save the tech bulletins for my updates while
Im dl'ing my sec/crit etc updates. Hope this helps. Most of the
updates may require a validation process but should be problem
free.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/R...ayEnglishAlso=


Also, it is a shame that autopatcher is no longer being updated but
it is a great program that installs all the needed updates via one program-like a service pack. I loved it for W2K. The XP version is
pretty close to up to date with the latest updates from microsoft-
check it out if you wish and there forums are helpful.

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=299731
ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'd rather use a program from microsoft so I know it's legit. Also your problem is Microsoft update only works with IE.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

This is the main forum page for autopatcher.

http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showforum=89
ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

To each his own. These guys work very hard to help the
average pc user keep their system up to date.

I have used the W2K patch and have had atleast 12 of my
friends use the XP patch and it has received no complaints
and in fact is rather a nice piece of software that is no more
than a microsoft hotfix chaining program which is much more
helpful than Microsoft qchain.

Dont use it then.
ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 06:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

windows update only works with Internet Explorer. they do that on purpose. so click on IE while your A.O.L. is on and then head there
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 05:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Default BRILLIANT ADVICE!

Thanks so much for all your help, everything is great now. I now have succesfully updated the comp and can continue to do so.

All the advice i recieved was very helpful!

WHAT A TEAM!!

Regards

Phil
__________________

philghost is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.