Windows Update for Windows ME - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2002, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default Windows Update for Windows ME

Hello,

I am having a problem with the "Windows Update" in Windows ME. I have the O/S installed on my old PC which I am not using anymore. I just installed the same O/S onto my new PC, but the problem is that now when I want to update my O/S on my new PC with the latest Windows updates, the process does not go through (however it does it ok on my old one). I would imagine that this is because my version of Windows ME is already configured with Microsoft for my old PC and to prevent piracy, I can't download any updates on my new one???? If this is true, how do I go about changing this. Is there a setting that I can modify?

Thanks,
Clueless
__________________

Clueless is offline  
Old 11-21-2002, 03:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

ME has nothing built in to stop you from running windows updates.

Did you disable any virus scan software? What happens when it finishes downloading? You may need to try re-running the OS install over the top of itself. I have seen that work for these types of issues.
__________________

__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-21-2002, 03:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for your reply.

All I get upon "Checking for latest version of Windows Update Software" is nothing. It does not even responed. I don't have a anitivrirus software running. So you suggest to re-install Windows ME over Windows ME?
Clueless is offline  
Old 11-21-2002, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

yea thats probably your only option, as there is no software you can re-install. It should work.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-21-2002, 03:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

I'm just curious, does Windows XP have built in to stop you from running windows updates?
Clueless is offline  
Old 11-21-2002, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

not exactly, if you are running a retail version, your copy of windows will just shut down after 14 days if you do not activate it. But windows update will work up until that time.

Service Pack 1 will not install unless you are using a unique cd-key.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-22-2002, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Unfortunately re-installing Windows ME over Windows ME did not work. It still won't allow me to download software updates from the Microsoft website. Do you have any other suggestions?
Clueless is offline  
Old 11-22-2002, 03:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

are you running any type of firewall software? If not try reseting all of your internet explorer settings. Go to internet options, delete your temp files, click on security, and reset to default level, then click on advanced, and reset defaults, and lastly click on connections, then lan settings, and uncheck anything in there that is checked. when your done, apply the changes and reboot.

If this doesnt work all I could suggest is a fresh install of windows. Than and getting rid of damnable ME and go to 2000 or XP.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 11-22-2002, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah, i'm going to install Windows XP instead.

Thanks for the advice!
__________________

Clueless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.