Windows update problem - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2005, 09:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 18
Default

it doesn't have to be registered to be updated
__________________

techsupport is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 09:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 39
Default I also....

agree with Techsupport about "Check your Date/Time/Time Zone settings". This tends to be a common thing to overlook, but makes all the difference for Windows Update.
__________________

mortified is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 12:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Its a legal copy, it is registered. I'll have to check about the time zone, but I thought I set that up correctly. I have tried hitting refresh, opening ie over and over, rebooting, but still have the problem. I'll look into the time and date and see if it works.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-15-2005, 10:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

well i am having the same problem and i called microsoft they didn't do ne thing... but im gonna try the tiem thing too..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 02-16-2005, 02:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I seem to be having the same problem. I click on windows update, and then I wait while it detects, but nothing ever happens. One other option you can do, is go to www.softwarepatch.com and download all the updates there. They also have S.P. 2 available for downloading. That's probably the best option. You may even get a fix in one of the updates that fixes that.
__________________

__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.