Windows Update Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2006, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default Windows Update Problem

Earlier today, I tried to upgrade from a release candidate version of IE7 to the final version. During the installation process, it removed my RC build of IE7 and started to install the new version. However, during the installation, something got messed up and I got an error screen saying that something wasn't found and couldn't be updated, or something to that effect. So now I'm stuck with IE6, but it gets even worse. When I rebooted my machine, Windows Updates found something for me to install. I went to install it, and I got a Generic Host Process for Win32 Services Error. So now I'm stuck with IE6 and I can't download security updates. What the heck is going on? The Microsoft Crash Analysis page came up with something for me to install to solve the Generic Host Process error, but installing it doesn't fix anything. Any ideas what I should do?
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 05:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Can you do a system restore and go back a few days?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

possibly a repair, or uninstall ie6 and then reinstall it, then run some cleanup tools like ccleaner and see what happens
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default

I tried to do a System Restore (I probably should've mentioned that in my first post, but I forgot) but it didn't change anything.

I reinstalled IE6 and ran CCleaner. After this, the automatic update still wouldn't work. However, after doing this, I could go to the Microsoft website, download the exact same update from there, and it worked fine for some reason. I'm not sure if something is wrong with my auto updates, or if it was just that update in particular. I guess I won't find out until the next updates get released.

I was tempted to try installing IE7 again, but I decided just not to bother. Firefox is my main browser anyway, but I just liked having IE7 because it's better than IE6 for when I come across sites that require IE. I'm thinking that the problem may have stemmed from files being removed that shouldn't have been when the IE7 RC was uninstalled. I remember Trotter posting about IE7 doing something like that to him when he tried to uninstall it and go back to IE6, only on a much worse scale since he had to reformat.

Anyway, thanks for the help guys, I appreciate it!
__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 08:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

it would have been better if you just installed ie7 overtop of the betas
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 10-19-2006, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to fjf314
Default

That's what I tried to do. When I ran the file to install IE7, though, the first thing it did was uninstall the RC version. That was the uninstall I was referring to. I didn't uninstall anything myself.
__________________

__________________
There are 10 kinds of people in the world, those who understand binary and those who don\'t.
fjf314 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.