windows update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2005, 06:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default windows update

can any one help me on why my windows wont update..? it doens't give any message saying why.. it just says windows failed to install updates. doesn't say why.... i went to the fix thing and the only reason i wanted to get the update is so my ms-dos mode might work.. (which it wont..) and the ways to fix it use ms-dos...
__________________

Blitze105 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Try downloading updates manually by going to http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com .

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

thats what ive been doing... it wont work that way either...
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
thats what ive been doing... it wont work that way either...
You get the same "failed" error message?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

yeah it just says it failed to install.. it lets me download the updates but not install them..
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Let me ask you something...is it that you are using an illegal version of Windows?

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Try this:

--> Start --> Run --> Services.MSC --> Look for something named "Background Intelligent Transfer Service"

* Make sure it is this because you don't want to disable someone you shouldn't be.

Once you found it, what does it say? Is it disabled?
ApM is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ApM
Try this:

--> Start --> Run --> Services.MSC --> Look for something named "Background Intelligent Transfer Service"

Once you found it, what does it say? Is it disabled?
Good idea.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
Good idea.

-Dan The Man
ApM is offline  
Old 02-06-2005, 06:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

yes it was disabled.. i enabled it.. ill try now..?
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.