Windows Update - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2007, 09:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Windows Update

I have this other computer that I'm trying to update. The update screen takes very long to move on...I see that bar go off for 30mins +. This is a fresh install, all drivers are up to date. Is this problem with slow computers or is it something else?
Spec:P3 Coppermine 733mhz
256ram

ps. my cruddy laptop updates in a cinch and the specs are similar
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Windows Update

It is probably taking so long because it is checking to see what you don't have yet. After the first round or two of updates it should go fine. Does it already have SP2?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-18-2007, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows Update

yes it has sp1, the automatic updates is faster though
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Activation Problem SmellyOne Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-28-2007 09:16 PM
..windows update gives me an error... SneakyNinja Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-26-2007 11:17 PM
Windows XP CD Key on 2 PCs !!Need Help with this ASAP!! spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 04-08-2007 06:49 PM
Does anyone know from where can I download an offline installation of windows update. maroon1 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-05-2007 07:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.