Windows turning into a window full of windows in vista, how to stop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2007, 05:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Windows turning into a window full of windows in vista, how to stop?

Hello, when there is like 12 windows or something open at the same time, Vista switches it so that each window says "10" beside the title of it, and you click that and select which window. This is no good. I want it so that I have them in front of me and I select, wihtuot having to click once before, just like in XP or previous Windows versions. How do I do this?
__________________

jonathanwest is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Windows turning into a window full of windows in vista, how to stop?

Hello,

Are you referring to taskbar button grouping?



If you are, then you can disable the grouping of similar taskbar buttons by right clicking the start orb in Vista, clicking properties, then unchecking the 'group similar taskbar buttons'.

Taskbar button grouping is on by default in Windows XP and Windows Vista.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 140
Default Re: Windows turning into a window full of windows in vista, how to stop?

Thank you very much for the help. I actually found it before you posted Using the Windows XP Taskbar so this turned out to be a complete waste of your time I am sorry.
jonathanwest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Windows Vista Networking Question seanramdeo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-25-2007 07:11 AM
Vista whoring nearly half my ram needlessly? Sydzy Overclocking and Modding 16 05-07-2007 04:50 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.