Windows Task Manager Problems? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 02:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Default Windows Task Manager Problems?

i've notice while using my computer that it runs slower and slower as the time passes.So i go into task manager and press the processes tab, it seems that there are a tonne of programs running but i might only have 1 or 2 application up.is there a program or a way to have to programs that im not using shut down without affecting my computer???

im using a AMD Athlon(tm)64 processor 3000+
2.00GHz/ 512 of Ram
160 Gigs of storage

Im told this system should be fast.

If you could help me in anyway it would be greatly appreciated thanks.
__________________

ImNewAtThis is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Most of those processes are windows critical process and you wont see them, or most of them. You might need to run your spyware programs and disable a lot of your taskbar icons. How many do you have running? Go to start, run, type msconfig, disable all but your antivirus and other essential software. If you don't know what to stop, post your processes on here and we can help you. Go to the startup tab, then click disable all, escept for the ones you need, then reboot and let us know.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

post your processes
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Try entering the names of those processes in the search of this page: http://www.sysinfo.org/startuplist.php

That site has a moderately complete list of many of the common processes (good and bad) that show up in your VDG dialog. Poke through there first, and anything that the search can't find, let us know and we'll give you the thumbs-up/down on it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

great link!!
i had forgoten about that one.
thanks shoobie
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

I am at 42 processed right now just running Firefox Once..Process are like expolorer.exe (windows system) ect Host files for internet / network ect
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Need more info on the processes...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 11:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

you could always take a screenshot of the processes and as long as we can read them... or you could look em up with that link
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 12:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Most of those processes are windows critical process and you wont see them, or most of them. You might need to run your spyware programs and disable a lot of your taskbar icons. How many do you have running? Go to start, run, type msconfig, disable all but your antivirus and other essential software. If you don't know what to stop, post your processes on here and we can help you. Go to the startup tab, then click disable all, escept for the ones you need, then reboot and let us know.
I think i figured out the problem, i was using the bit tornado client 3.9, i was told that for some reason that this version hangs and duplicates processes therefore using all of my memory. i've taking it off and put an older version on and it seems to have fixed the problem for now.

1 more question what program would you i need to take a picture of my screen so i display the issue? thanks for all the input.
ImNewAtThis is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 12:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

you don't need any special programs... alt+Print Screen will take a picture of the window you are in... and copy it to the clipboard... try pasteing it in Paint.
try just pressing Print Screen and pasting in MSPaint for screenshot of entire desktop.
__________________

__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.