windows support for multi user - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2005, 09:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default windows support for multi user

Hello
Can you guys tell me what edition (if any) of Windows XP can support multi-users

I heard that Windows Server 2003 might be able to do it. is that correct?

What about Windows X64?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-24-2005, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Support multi-users? Users who use multiple versions of windows? Or multiple users? Please explain, then I can help

-SkyHi
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

multiple users logged onto the same machine running windows xxx and having different desktops

e.g. 5 users remotely logging onto a machine running windows xxx and running say

first user: wolfenstein
second user: aerospace simulation
third user: 2 instaces of word and an instance of excel
fourth user: surfing the net using opera
fifth user: surfing the user using firefox
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think you can only do multiple remote logons with Windows Server.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

is that any version of windows server
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 07:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I know for certain that it can be done with Windows 2000 and Windows 2003.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 01:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
I know for certain that it can be done with Windows 2000 and Windows 2003.
I dont know if he was talking about that or if he meant Web Edition, Standard Edition, Enterprise Edition, and another one that I cant remember right now

I know that it can be done on 2000 and 2003. I just dont know on what edition it can be done on.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.