windows start menu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2006, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default windows start menu question

Hello

I wanted to arrange my startup menu programs. i.e. the programs i can access after going through the following sequence

Start --> All Programs -->

i wanted to put all the like programs e.g. games in one folder and ms applications in another folder and so on

can you guys tell me how to do it?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

right click on the start button and click open
double-click "programs"
right-click and select "new folder"
rename the new folder
create shortcuts to your fave programs on the desktop
drag the desktop shortcuts to the "new folder"

tell me if it works!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

right click on the start button and click open
double-click "programs"
right-click and select "new folder"
rename the new folder
create shortcuts to your fave programs on the desktop
drag the desktop shortcuts to the "new folder"

tell me if it works!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

start>all programs>go to the first program/folder, right click, click sort by name
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Nice solution guys. I wonder if it works on Windows 95.
JasonMichael is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 01:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

it should work...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-13-2006, 03:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thaks for the replies guys

i did right click on the start button and click open
double-click "programs"and created a flder named games, dragged two of my games folders onto it

when i went back to start-->al programs i found that a whole bunch of yahoo games had also magically been copied to the games folder. now say if i want to create a sub games folder containing all my yahoo games, how do i do it. i

a related question is if i create microsoft office folder on the start-all programs menu, how do i copy the ms word applications to it?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.