Windows SP2. Informal Poll - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2006, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29
Default Windows SP2. Informal Poll

Hello Folks,

I am having a graphical problem with a notebook which I cannot resolve. "Luckily" the notebook is a Dell. Dell has a quick and easy restore function which re-sets the pc to factory settings. I lose all my data and appliactions but I don't have anything on the PC that is important.

Now for the question. The PC is a couple of years old (or older) and it was shipped with SP1. Should I upgrade to SP2? Reason I ask is I don't want to install anything that is not absolutely necessary. For all I know, SP2 might be what is causing my problem.

Thanks, Bill

bpatters69 is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

if you only have sp1 how do you know if sp2 is giving you problems?

Osiris is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760

I run xp pro, and upgraded to PS2 1 time for about 2 minutes. My machine had problems with sp2... not to say that yours will or does, but I don't like sp2 at all.

What is actually wrong with your graphics?
brady is offline  
Old 04-27-2006, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29

Thank you for the replies.


I do have SP2 on the PC now but when I restore to original factory spec, the OS will revert to SP1. I might not have explained that very well.


I use the PC to play World of Warcraft. When I play the game, the frames per second drop to 20 or less and the game play is very choppy. My character looks like Max headroom when I move around. I also have the game on an older desktop PC and the game runs great. The notebook has a faster processor than the desktop but the desktop has a high end video card. I would blame the video card in the notebook but the game used to run fine. I have run every Spyware, Virus, Spam, etc program and nothing helps.

What kind of problems did you have with SP@?
bpatters69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.