Windows Service Pack 2 messed up my comp! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2004, 03:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 411
Default Windows Service Pack 2 messed up my comp!

Ok, wtf is wrong with that service pack 2.

I download it, and now i cant connect to certain things, like Ventrilo.

Wtf did the service pack do? Should i reinstall windows?

Ventrilo is a thing where you talk to people live, now i cant connect, well i can, but i have 3000000 lag.

KiDrIoT69 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Disable the SP2 firewall.

TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 411

Whats SP2?
KiDrIoT69 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 411

Oh ok, thank you
KiDrIoT69 is offline  
Old 12-05-2004, 03:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady

If that doesn't work, uninstall it thru the add/remove...assuming you can. If you didn't make the proper choices, then go into safe mode and do a system restore to before you installed SP2. Liz
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Default fock!

damn. i installed it as well.. so far i can connect to everything, but my windows, "instant message windows" when i move the boxes it lags on its move, i did not have the problem before, i take pretty damn good care of my pc, and its a good pc.. 3.0/512/ati 9800. p43 deluxe, the works.. all the drivers are installed correctly but it dont fix it.. any ideas please?

Askarz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.