windows server 2003 and xp pro in a simple basic SOHO domain - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2005, 05:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default windows server 2003 and xp pro in a simple basic SOHO domain

hi, how exactly do i set this up completely, is there a newbie's guide online that anyone knows about for this? i have a 4 computer network(includes my server) that i'd like to be able to control using a domain rather than a work group, my server(as listed below...dell dimension 4100 which is using windows server 2003 instead of XP Pro) i know how to setup a domain controller and such but how do i add computers to the domain and users and printers and such, i really need a dummies tutorial for this if anyone can help...pics are also good, thx for any help
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 06:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Well its kinda hard to give a "dummies" tutorial on this one.
Are you going to make your server a DHCP/DNS/DDNS server ?
If so.. you need to make sure you talk to your ISP so you can have that static IP to call your own.
Once your done with that, make 1 machine a DC ... very important.
Once you have that done.. you need to join you other machines to the domain. Go to your my computer and hit properties..
Select the Computer name tab and select "change"
You then can join your machine to the domain.

DO NOT forget to create the local/network Accts !
Create your AD (active directory) groups and have fun.
MAKE SURE YOU CREATE A LOCAL ADMIN ACCT incase your domain GOES DOWN !

happy hunting
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 07:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

could u explain DDNS and DC? never heard of those 2, DNS - domain name service and i know wat DHCP is/does w/e but yea i uh...w/e
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 08:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...3/default.mspx

start with the papers under browse by task
office politics is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

DDNS : Dynamic Domain Naming Space.
- Used without DHCP.

DC : Domain Controller.
- Depending on the size of your domain, you "should" have
Multiple DC's.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

i thought the regular server was teh DC...
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 04:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Nope... A DC is a standalone that helps with replication and data transfer.

Servers are servers.
Domain Controllers help "Control Domains"
DC's can be setup to help with whatever youwish.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

the DC can also be the server. You server is going to be the DHCP, DC. Since there are not other servers, your machine will become the DC. it's not the complicated. The setup process is very simple.
Server 2003 has a tool for configuring the servers. use it. it's very helpful. Look in control panel.

As stated above, setting up the groups and account you are going to be using is very important. Make sure you have all the local admin accounts matched, and then have a least one domain admin account. use the Domain admin accout to add the machines to the domin per the above instructions, once you get the setup working. from there, you can learn about Group Policy and login scripts and all that fun stuff if you want.
Really, setting up a small network is not hard. Just have patience and be ready to troubleshoot for a few hours if you do something wrong. but it's all for understanding it better in the end.

Good luck
Inaris is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Oh yeah... Write down everything you do.
sequential back outs are imperative !
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 07:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

ok...yea i use that server config tool a lot, thats how i tried to set this crap up initially but it was a lot of trial and error i dont have patience for.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.