Windows Scan disc problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2006, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default Windows Scan disc problem

Hello iv resently been having a problem with my windows start up. it starts some what normaly then it goes to a "Windows was not shut down properly and may have errors, choose how you would like to start windows" (or something along those lines...) then it gives me these options. start windows normaly, revert to last known safe configuration. start windows in prompt, start windows in safe mode with networking and regular safe mod. I choose start normaly it goes to the scan disk screen were it does its thing (very slow i might add) and finds no errors then it showes me the allocation units and all then then it restarts... then im back at the "start Windows" screen so i choose revert to last known good config and it does the same thing so i just try safe mod to know avail.. it freezes after the drivers load... has any one found out how to fix this before or does any one know whats causing this to happen, and i shut it down properly also. any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.s. im on a second comp posting this so you know..
__________________

UnHolyDeviant is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

-Right-click My Computer, and then click Properties.
-Click the Advanced tab.
-Under Startup and Recovery, click Settings to open the Startup and Recovery dialog box.
-Clear the Automatically restart check box, and click OK the necessary number of times.
-Restart your computer for the settings to take effect.

this will stop it from restarting and then you will most likley get a blue screen or errors then let us know what they say
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

sorry my computer wont even start up...
UnHolyDeviant is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

will it start in safemode?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 06:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

im waiting to see right now
UnHolyDeviant is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Default

no my computer will not start up it doesent get to the log in screen and it doesnt load in safe mode
UnHolyDeviant is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 09:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try a repair using the windows cd and if that doesnt work preform a format.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.