Windows Reinstall/Reactivate? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2005, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
Default Windows Reinstall/Reactivate?

I'm looking to upgrade my motherboard, processor and memory. Will I need to reinstall all the software on my harddrive, including WinXP? I really can't be faffed with that so would rather not if avoidable...

Thanks for considering this...

DF
__________________

changalang is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

If you are getting a new mobo, I would, software conflicts, etc could happen. But not if you are just going to install a new proc. and memory.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-29-2005, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

I have done it and got the blue screen of death. I had to reinstall and reactivate.
geekster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.