Windows privileges - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2007, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Unhappy Windows privileges

Well this is a kind of a long one, so bear with me.
You can read the Story if you want else just skip to the last paragraph, which is written in blue

I was getting ready to reformat my PC, and start from scratch, and was deleting some files before i started. Uninstalled everything unnecessary that i had on my pc before backing up some important stuff in my computer(i was just going to use a partition and drop them all in there instead of using a disc or w/e...). However this ended up in me uninstalling a Language pack(korean) and forgot to edit the options in Regional Settings(Language packs,etc) to just english and restarted... when my pc started i had error which said that /windows is corrupt and needs repairing, blah blah blah... i figured it was because i forgot to do that and well got frustrated...

Since I still hadn't backed up the files i needed i decided to install a new copy of windows under /windows2 directory, and started from scratch everything was great and tried accessing my old account in the other windows installation by going to Documents and Settings however i don't have "permission" to access this folder. I just need to save a few files from My documents.

So my question is, Is there a way of avoiding or overriding this Access Denied Message? Yes This account has Administrator Rights, but since its in another installation of windows(same partition, different folder).. i don't exactly what to do here.. -_-


NightSky is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
superdave1984's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980

Sounds like your files were set to "private".

Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 06:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

Originally posted by Apokalipse
follow these instructions:

1. reboot the PC

2. before Windows loads, press F8

3. choose Safe Mode

4. once it boots up, log on to the account called "Administrator" (this only shows up in Safe Mode)

5. once you have logged on, right click the folder, and go to "Sharing and Security"

6. click the "security" tab

7. click "advanced"

8. go to the "owner" tab

9. click your user name

10. click "replace owner on subcontainers and objects"

11. click "apply"

12. reboot
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-11-2007, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

TY, it worked.
NightSky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.