Windows OneCare Live - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 48
Default Windows OneCare Live

What do you guys think about it? Is the antivirus good? is it worth installing?

Should I uninstall the firewall (Kerio Personal Firewall) and antivirus (Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2006) that im currently using?
__________________

illmatic1 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

This is a double edge sword question. First are you a official Beta Tester? If so you will recieve the updates. If not and you got the version that is leaked dont install it. It cant update. It will only be for looks.
I am an official tester for this. I still have my AV and Firewall running. I say this since the AV doesnt catch all that it should. Even when i had Norton install, Norton caught more than this progam did. But now i have NOD32 and this.
The Firewall is just an updated Windows SP2 firewall and would suggest running a real firewall as there are so many hacks and ways around the windows firewall.
Aside from that the app is very good. It does a system check and backup by itself. It updates several times a day. So the app if you are a beta tester is worth trying out at least. Like i said the leaked version is just the app that was patched to install on any machine. It cant update nor protect your PC.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2006 and nod32 are the 2 best antiviruses around
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

True. But as a Beta tester for many product i have to try them out at least. I had NOD32 installed but have the settings down to the minimal and most things turned off. That way i can test the software. I still have the AV and firewall installed as extra protection.
This is the only true "effective" way to test the betas that i have found. You can use a test machine but i dont think that gives an accurate output. I use my main machine that way the software can truly be tested with everyday activities. It also tells me what apps give conflicts and what ones dont. I can then send accurate bug reports.
At least this is all my personal ideals. I dont recommend this to everyone. I have many ways that i prepare for the worse. I Ghost my image at least once a day if not every other day to protect against crashing. This way i know if i install something new and it crashes not to install it again.
I have sent some recommendations to M$ on OneCare to include the Anti-Spyware and a few other things. That will reduce the need for so many different apps installed on the machine.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
True. But as a Beta tester for many product i have to try them out at least. I had NOD32 installed but have the settings down to the minimal and most things turned off. That way i can test the software. I still have the AV and firewall installed as extra protection.
This is the only true "effective" way to test the betas that i have found. You can use a test machine but i dont think that gives an accurate output. I use my main machine that way the software can truly be tested with everyday activities. It also tells me what apps give conflicts and what ones dont. I can then send accurate bug reports.
At least this is all my personal ideals. I dont recommend this to everyone. I have many ways that i prepare for the worse. I Ghost my image at least once a day if not every other day to protect against crashing. This way i know if i install something new and it crashes not to install it again.
I have sent some recommendations to M$ on OneCare to include the Anti-Spyware and a few other things. That will reduce the need for so many different apps installed on the machine.
Are you sure its only available to testers?


http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=80571
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I dont know if that is the same version that i have installed on my PC. I have OneCare Live but that is different from the one i have. I dont know why they have 2 out there. This one might have something to do with the launch of live.com though.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Is the online scan any different? I have used the beta when it first came out
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 08:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2006 and nod32 are the 2 best antiviruses around
is kaspersky 2006 better that 2005? because I have 2005 ait's really slow.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

as far as i know one care is now a public beta anyone can use it well if you have SP2
ok i found the article
http://www.betanews.com/article/Wind...ive/1133366007
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 03:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well thru that site you get to get the beta but not the serial for it. Unless you pay. There is a small fee that M$ charges for this. I didnt have to pay since i was invited to the beta, sorry to say. I am not saying that this isnt it. I dotn know off hand. I have the beta from Beta Place installed right now and cant install this one. I do think that they are the same. I think the online scan does do the Tune up and backup for you though Warez.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.