Windows... OMG - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 07:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

go into the Nortons property for scanning and in there you should see an option to scan floppy on access... disable that. This usually was only a problem on older o/s's but guess depending on the config, may still be around. What happens is as windows sends a shutdown command, it send a secure/park command to the hardware, one being the floppy. Well, Nortons sees this as an access and checks it out causing almost like a tug of war between the o/s shutdown command and Nortons wanting to scan the floppy access. See if this is your problem. Use to see it alot in 98 and ME but dont recall seeing it in XP, but then again haven't had to do desktop since going into server side crap.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 05:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 66
Default

The problem is still there now, after i uninstalled Nortan. OMG now... im really pissed.!!!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3400+ [754]
Asus K8N MoBo
Kingston Valueram 256X2 [400mhz]
Ati 9600xt 256mb
W.D. 120GB 7200 8mb
blazeboy84 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

its probably a driver/startup program issue then. see if anything shows in event viewer. Also disbale all startup items, reboot to take effect and then see if you can shutdown normaly.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Sounds like something is having a rough time shutting down. This might work, go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup, click disable all, reboot, once back at the desktop, shut it off again and see if the problem is still there.
did you try this?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.