windows nt page fault - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2004, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 134
Default windows nt page fault

when i go to boot up my machine i get a black screen that says page fault and then a bunch of 000000000hardware profile/good configuration
then some more numbers
does anyone know how to fix this
__________________

Hitesh0528 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 05:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

If you can post the whole thing, that would be helpfull. It's got details of where the problem was. Then we might be able to help...
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

What were you doing w/ your pc before this error occurred? Install any new hardware/software? change any settings? And you're seriously running NT 4.0 at home??? If this is a work PC, are you connected on a LAN? Clarify.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 134
Default

ya this is a work pc and it is connected to a lan
well i didnt do anything but the person couldnt get it to shutdown properly so they just cut the power to it while it was running
Hitesh0528 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hitesh0528
ya this is a work pc and it is connected to a lan
well i didnt do anything but the person couldnt get it to shutdown properly so they just cut the power to it while it was running
Ughhh..... Sometimes that can be a total PITA to fix.

If you have the NT 4.0 Workstation CD, boot your PC with it and click on the Repair option; then click on the Insepct Registry files. It'll ask you if you have an ERD (emergency repair disk) if you don't have one, press Esc, then you'll see another menu screen asking you what you want to repair, choose the SYSTEM registry file.

If you don't have the CD, there are other ways you could fix this, but it's beyond my help. Ask one of the moderators to help you further.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 11:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

By "the person" I'm going to assume a tech. You might be better to let them deal with this as it is going to vary on what options you have based on how your environment is configured.

The best thing in a case like this would be to boot up with the WIN2k cd and run checkdisk, but that needs admin creds and you might not have that. Also there are tools to help you. But I would suspect that this is more like you wanting to get your data back, and that can be done by simply slaving that drive off on another computer and then moving the files out to a new location\machine.
Honestly, NT4 is pretty crappy to work on now, but it's not impossible to fix. You can also use safemode booting to see if it's driver related. Also could be related to a corrupt registry, hard reboots can cause such things. Which in NT4 is not likely to get recovered anyway.
good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.