Windows not ecognised - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2004, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10
Angry Windows not ecognised

We have two pc's at home. I reformatted one PC and tried to boot with win98 and it kept freezing. So I took the hard drive from pc1 and put it my second pc and rebooted that way. It loaded up and worked fine on pc2. However when I put the hard drive back in the original computer (pc1) it will not boot and tells me "Windows was not recognised" It offerred me 4 options:

1. Safe mode
2 Restart in safe mode with command prompt
3. Restart in network mode
4. Restart from last known good setting.

It doesent matter which one of these I click on it just keeps bringing up the screen thats say "Windows not recognised"

The pc configuration are:
PC 1 (The one I reformatted)

P111 800mhz
128MB Ram

The 2nd PC which I used to reload win98 onto the 20gb HD is


Both using win98se

Hope you understand what I mean and what has happened. I would appreciate any help.
I feel my MOBO in P111 PC has died.
Thanks in advance


smithy is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie

THat prompt usually occurs when you shut down you computer manuelly that.

have you tried booting into safe mode?
(Safe mode is a Windows mode that loads only required drivers/Progs its a troubleshooting mode)

you should have also been given the option to boot into normal mode

IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 07:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10

Yep, Tried all that. cant even boot into safe mode, normal mode or anything. screen just sits there and does nothing
Thanks for your relply
smithy is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

Is your PC trying to boot from the win98 cd? Make sure that your cd-rom drive is one of the options in your startup; you can change this setting in your BIOS.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10

Ok, the Hd has win98 on it and will boot from my other pc. It works fine and is fully functional operating system. But when I put the hard drive back in the machine it came from it wont boot. I cant figure out why it will work as normal on one Pc and not the other. I dont have a problem with the pc booting, it starts up etc but just wont recognise win98. I feel its a mobo prob or a setting in the bios.
smithy is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Qiranworms's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635

Perhaps the hard drive jumper is on the cable select setting? That would explain why one machine works while the other does could be as simple as an IDE conflict. Set the drive to master while making sure no other drive on the same IDE channel is master as well (if one is, by the way, that would answer your problem).

Edit: that makes no sense whatsoever actually...your computer seems to be recognizing the hard disk if it's giving you boot options...sorry...

Will the other machines NORMAL drive work on this machine? Or does the machine refuse all drives that machine uses...
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 11:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 10

Jumper settings are fine. Machine refuses all drives. Ok so its recognising hdd and giving boot options but why wont the boot options work???????????

smithy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.