Windows not booting up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to shayahakohen
Default Windows not booting up

I had an old 40gb hard drive with my windows on it and when i got a new one i decided to just copy everything. i didnt have time to make a ghost so i used xcopy with all the paramaters. i tried booting up and it didnt work. i was fine with that i just used the new hard drive to keep all my data on. last night my 40 gb with my os on it died. is there any repair that i could do that will replace all the messed up system files? The screen when i boot up is something like the boot sector is damaged. i already loaded windows repair did chdsk that was fine. did fixboot. did a couple other things. i do have system restore enabled if that will help. also i am unable to boot up in safe mode so dont suggest that.
__________________

shayahakohen is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You have to do a fresh install of Windows XP when you get a new HD, because the OS is used to all of your old information, plus Microsoft makes you activate when you get new hardware, so how would they when you just "copied a hard drive"?

The only thing you can do is reformat, and reinstall.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to shayahakohen
Default

Its the same machine. Just another harddrive. Anyway thats gonna suck because i have a lot of data on that drive and i dont know where im going to store it all.
shayahakohen is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Leave the old harddrive alone, the data will still remain. Install your Windows on the new harddrive then after, connect the old harddrive as a secondary slave. It should appear in "My Computer" place and you should be able to access the data.

You'll probably need to take owner ship of the folder/files if there's a permission restriction.
Law is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 07:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MD
Posts: 35
Send a message via AIM to shayahakohen
Default

I mean i have a lot of data on the new harddrive that i dont have on the old one.
shayahakohen is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

So what do you want to do? Do you want to transfer the data from the new harddrive to the old one?

If your old harddrive is corrupted and you want to install a fresh copy of Windows then just format it and install. Since the data is already backup on the new harddrive, why not just install the OS back on the old harddrive then plug the new harddrive as secondary to become a backup device. The OS will reside on the old harddrive and all your current data is on the new harddrive.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.