windows multi installation boot options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Unhappy windows multi installation boot options

hey all i recently formatted a partition on my hdd and reinstalled windows on that then formatted the partition it was already on but now i get a choice at boot between two differnt windows installs one of which no longer exists how do i get rid of this opt without a whole disc format.
help apreiciated
thanks
wes
__________________

blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

In your main operating system, go to Start-> Run -> type "msconfig". Go to the Boot.ini part and remove the operating system.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

and what if it's not listed?

I have the same issue with my MBR
Vista was loaded (post XP) and removed.

If it was Vista, I can't tell you how, cuz Vista renders .ini boot files useless.

But... if it was any other OS, you could run the recovery console from the install disk, and type 'fixmbr' on the current running volume
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Vista is a BETA. That's why it doesn't show up in MSCONFIG.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

no sir, vista uses a different boot sequence entirely, that's why it doesn't show up in msconfig
you can read all about it here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/919529
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 07:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
Default

yep its not listed there , and it is vista and its still a pain
and i still have no idea how to fix it , oh well
blade2006 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

google for EasyBCD. that will help you fix it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-18-2007, 01:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
google for EasyBCD. that will help you fix it.
yes vista purposely moved it. msconfig will work for everything else
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 12:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

thanks for the app tip Makaveli213
i removed vista from the MBR with it (although, I haven't rebooted to check it yet)
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.