windows media player 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 06:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default windows media player 9

Help please. I have installed xp pro and I cant get windows media player to work. When I click on the media player icon all I get is a blue and white welcome to media player 9 series set up screen.

When I click on the "next" button nothing happens. I have tried downloading wmp 10 and same thing. Also tried installing again but still the same. All works okay on my other pc.
__________________

richdave49 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

What is your XP install? Is it OEM, manufacturer, etc..?

-SkyHi
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 12:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Not a fix but a work-around: Go to www.winamp.com and get Winamp.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

SkyHi, xp pro came with the pc so I guess maybe oem? Still cant understand why everything works on my one pc but not on the other. Also I have noticed that this pc (with the wmp problem) when I try to play pinball, the pinball screen only flashes on for aprox 0.25 second. must be something that I have (or not) done!

Elbatrop1 many thanks will try this out, cheers.
richdave49 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hmmm, sounds like something went corrupt somewhere down the line. You still have your XP CD That came with the computer? Run a repair install, that should take care of it.

http://www.windowsreinstall.com/winx...pair/part1.htm
Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

mind if i throw something in?
windows media player 9 is not the newest version of wmp. Download 10 and see if that works for you, personally i HATE it so maybe use something else.

wmp10:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 05:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 248
Send a message via ICQ to shuaibao Send a message via AIM to shuaibao Send a message via Yahoo to shuaibao
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Not a fix but a work-around: Go to www.winamp.com and get Winamp.
ALRIGHT! Winamp PWNS (using this excessively today)
I like the MMD3 skin it PWNS (lol) best skin.
__________________
I have ADD that stands for Attention Defecit hey look a birdie!

<a href=\"http://www.shuaiking.org/\">www.shuaiking.org: my blog</a>
shuaibao is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 04:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Him, did what you said and all works fine now - many thanks to you and all others for your time and assistance. All the best to you.
richdave49 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Thumbs up

if i were you i would use media player 10 :P:P:P
__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 08:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Funcanator
if i were you i would use media player 10 :P:P:P
winamp rapes it! and always will


www.winamp.com
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.