Windows Media Player 11 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2006, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jwill602
Angry Windows Media Player 11

I recently updated my Windows Media Player, when my computer told informed me of an update, which was a few days ago. Now, whenever I try to edit footage of movies I make in Windows Movie Maker, it comes up as blackness, with no footage. The darkness last throughout the entire clip... What do I do?
Even new footage I import comes up as nothingness...

jwill602 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 07:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
lancec2c30's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30

okay so what does this have to do with media player 11? Maybe the video is in the wrong format??


XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jwill602

Because I haven't done ANYTHING else to my computer, and this just started happening right after I updated windows media player.
jwill602 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

what format is the video in? have you downloaded any codecs for it? it might have been you had some with your old media player and now its been uninstalled in favour of the new one thats all you have, just the player and no codecs, just a thought
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jwill602

I don't think I needed any codecs before, but maybe I did... And now they just don't work because I updated to the beta version of windows media player...
Okay... I'll check that out
jwill602 is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

Windows Media Player isnt in Beta anymore. It is a fully released and support product now from M$. So if you are using the Beta version get the full release from the M$ site.

That could be your first problem. 2nd are you sure that Movie Maker is fully updated?

I just made a movie using it with my WMP11 and i have no issues with it at all.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.