Windows media player 10 problems! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default Windows media player 10 problems!

On one of my computers the media player has a slight problem. My wife loves to watch the visualizations. Almost all of them look great. When I put on one called geforce from sound spectrum it plays somewhat jerky. I thought my vid card could be having problems but I have an ati aiw 9600 pro. I have the same vis on itunes and when I play the same vis on that, it works great. What could be causing this? It plays great on itunes but not on WMP. Thanks.

Now for the second computer I have. It is brand new. When I go to play a dvd on WMP I seem to have some problems. It is like it cuts in and out and plays it in slow motion. I went to the speed setting in wmp and it was set right. I played the dvd on power dvd player and it works great. Music plays great on the wmp but not dvd. What is going on with my wmp's. All have some type of glitches. Can anyone help???? ???
__________________

ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

About the first problem you said that your wife loves visualizations why dont you use winamp full and watch the milkDrop visualization its the best i ever seen and it flows like a waterfall even with my average Geforce4MX
try it you will tank me
__________________

__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

How much is winamp full? Can I transfer all my purchased music from napster and walmart over to it? Can I use the geforce vis? Thanks.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

I heard that geforce vis s for almost players so it must be for winamp too about the price winamp is a free player i meant by full that you should not use lite (just a size differance)
__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 01:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

What is better about winamp than wmp? Can I transfer my purchsed music to winamp/???
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 02:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 229
Send a message via Yahoo to psman
Default

winamp is a lot smaller and have a smaller process
about your purched music if they are just some simple mp3 sure you can run them but may be they are incrypted to run with only the original player for that you will have to try
__________________
You... Went Beyond
You lost it all.
Why did you go there
psman is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 02:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 923
Default

After experimenting with things I found that by turning off hyperthreading the graphics on my computer work much better now. So problem 1 solved. Problem 2 still in working process though. Anyone.
ingeborgdot is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 02:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Try using a different software, like divX Player.
ApM is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

how much is your memory? maybe the visualization doesnt run good because your memory is too low.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2005, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

http://members.home.nl/icq99/un****/index2.htm

this will solve the second problem, plus it make your dvd look like HDTV.
I have one on my system

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.