windows media edition problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2006, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Unhappy windows media edition problem

downloaded it there for my personal pc and it installed ok but internet explorer hasnt installed on it properly therefor im not able to connect to the internet (currently on my other pc now) anyone now how to get around this and i have burnt a disk with i.e 7 exe file to a data disk and tried but u have to be connected to the internet to install it... it seems i should have just stuvk to xp pro anyway of getting round this are even delating this operating system from my pc when i also try to install xp pro back it says it cant as there is a newer version already on my pc
__________________

Glen is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: windows media edition problem

Quote:
Originally posted by Glen
but internet explorer hasnt installed on it properly therefor im not able to connect to the internet
what happens when you open IE?
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 11:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

scratch disc or cheap cd rom. upgrade it from the mce file that is on your hdd
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 02:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Download Maxthon , Opera , firefox whatever
amlife is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 10:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

when i try to open it it says which file do u want to open this with and gives a list of options like notepad lol


i cant download firefox and all if i cant acsess the internet in the first place and plus since i wiped the pc i need to install the bt broadband modem etc again and it needs at least i.e 6 to install
Glen is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 11:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

i think iv found the problem i tried to reinstall again and it prompted it needed xp cd 2 which i have i then inserted and it asked me for i386 file which is an important file iv im not mistking so obviously my cd didnt contain it

is there any way of me getting this?
Glen is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 11:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I already told you the problem. windows didn't copy all of the files during installation
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 26
Default

ok thats the problem whats the solution? lol
__________________

Glen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.