windows media center - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2005, 05:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default windows media center

does windows xp media center support dual processors like xp pro? I know xp home won't. And would it make a differece with a AMD 64 athlon 3800 x2 dual core?

thanks
__________________

midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I think you are confusing duel core and 64 bit.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Tyler1989 I'm not confused seems you are, look below

http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase...p_home_pro.asp

Pro features that aren't in Home Edition
*Multi-processor support - Windows XP Pro supports up to two microprocessors, while Home Edition supports only one.
midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I think it'w better if you use an actual MS link in this case and no you have a duel core processor that is 64 bit. So even if the OS you want supports duel core it's not that important because you want one that supports 64 bit.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

wow Tyler you must know alot(not), because Mike and Samantha at microsoft seemed to think it was quite important not to go with xp home as it does not support dual core and they knew what my system specs were. (was on the phone 20 min with them and I have my answer now, and I trust them over you ) and windows is not alot to trust.
midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 07:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Listen and calm down don't act like a child.

You have a AMD 64 athlon 3800 x2 dual core. This is a duel core processor yes but it is also a 64 bit processor. Therefore you want XP x64 not XP Pro or Media Center though they do work you want to take advantage of your hardware.


It is not important if your AMD is duel core as all duel cores are 64 bit. The only MS OS out there I know of now is XP x64 and that is the only thing that fully uses your hardware.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Tyler, xp pro x64 has some healthy driver issues right now. I would not want to have to update other parts of my office because of this or the hassle. heres the link and its to a ms site as you want, so go read up
midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-01-2005, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Then maybe a AMD FX is better for you. I noticed a few says ago you had a thread for suggestions on building your PC is it finished. I generally would check to see if there are 64 bit drivers before I buy the parts but if you need stability and it's for your office then get XP Pro.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-02-2005, 07:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Tyler, so do you still like xp pro x64 ? and please stay out of my post with your worthless opinions
midrangeG is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 04:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

These are not "worthless opinions" he is stating a fact. If you want to take full advantage of the 64-bit processing, you will need to buy the 64-bit version of Windows XP. Without the 64 bit XP, you will be processing in the 32-bit mode.

With either OS, your dual core processor should work. But the only way to take full advantage of the 64-bit processing is to install a 64-bit OS.

The link you provided states that XP Profession supports up to two sepparate processors. The x2 is a dual core processor, which is only one processor with two processing cores.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.