Windows ME Sucks - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2005, 02:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
Well thats because you have too many background programs running. Hit control /alt /delete and shut down everything except systray and explorer. Should defrag after that.
Tried that - no dice. Nothing is in there that shouldn't be. ALl the epson stuff is done. Just system processes.
__________________

Snump is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 07:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

well theres nothing wrong with win ME that changing it completly can't fix!!
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 08:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 18
Send a message via AIM to pbreaction
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
I used Me for years and believe it or not, never had any irregular issues...
did you never turn on your comp....lol
pbreaction is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 05:29 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

windows 95 works better than windows me, and its OLD..
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 06:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I have not had problems with ME when I used it back in the day.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I used ME for a few years, only problem I had was it would run out of memory after leaving it on. Does ME have system restore? If it does you could try doing that...or just keep shutting it down when you get the cursor until they get XP.
xr280xr is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 12:34 AM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xr280xr
I used ME for a few years, only problem I had was it would run out of memory after leaving it on. Does ME have system restore? If it does you could try doing that...or just keep shutting it down when you get the cursor until they get XP.
I have an XP Home OEM copy on the way. I can't even screw with printers, there's a DLL crash. I literally can't manipulate anything in control panel. Display properties are hosed too. I did a scandisk and the drive checked out. I akso whipped out the Western Digital utility and it checked out on there too, so I don't believe its a hardware issue.
__________________

Snump is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.