windows me - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2003, 02:02 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

\Program Files\Microsoft Office \Templates
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 02:07 PM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 24
Question question!!

do you double click on the file or go in word and chose open?

If you click on the file, maybe your doc's files are associated with another software, you can change that in regedit.

But how did it get there? (if that's the problem) virus? user playing around in regedit?...

just an idea, try it
__________________

drlosier is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 08:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you don't open it you delete it
*COUGH*Windows ME sucks*COUGH*
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 09:11 PM   #24 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

That's cold Apokalipse.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 12:34 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

The computer was like that when it was given to me. the owner got tired of it being that way. It doesn'r matter which way you try to open a word document, it does the same thing. If you go to create a new document, it still does the same thing.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 06:57 AM   #26 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

there's nothing wrong with me hating windows ME
It might be a corrupt registry, try reinstalling Word
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 10:07 AM   #27 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I belive that he said he reinstalled on the initial post.
Any why *cough* around the opinion of Windows ME? It most certianly sucks.. Yea, it's cold and all, but M$ knows it sucks too so no harm done....

Geez, I'm really bitter this morning.....

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 10:44 AM   #28 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Win ME totally sucks!! I got Win XP Pro for my kids PC. Will install sunday morning. Gonna do a clean install and format both their drives. 10gig master & a 40gig slave for games. Got to reinstall the linksys adaptor and a ton of other stuff. Wish me Luck!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 10:45 AM   #29 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

By the Way Apolalipse I was winking @cha!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 11:38 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

Everyone is emtitled to their opinion on anything. If you hate W-ME, that is your choice. I have very little experience with it and I have to agree with you. It sucks. However, I would like to get the computer working for my grandson. He needs one. I do have W98 that I could install. If I do format and install 98, what about all the drivers for the hardware? I have some of the disks but not the one for the sound system. I have not had much luck with getting drivers off the net that will work. That may just be my problem.
Also, my grandson is wanting me to get a steering wheel and pedals for XP so the he can run his racing games on it. Without adding a card, it will have to be USB. The ones that I have found say they will work with XP but when I go to the XP compatibility site, they are not listed there. Any suggestions on this.
Thanks for all the info all of you have given me so far.
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.