windows me - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2003, 08:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Something had to change on the PC if it use to work
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 08:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, thats what I'm screaming...lol
But I hate ME enough to say get rid of it if you can

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 08:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I have Win ME on my kids PC and it works just fine, but that's on their PC not mine!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 03:10 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you know how bad it is? Microsoft doesn't even support Windows ME anymore!!!
Getting XP shouldn't be a problem since you'd only be using it on the problem computer.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 03:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

I love the way every 1 is telling him to ditch ME, but that is hardly a technical answer. :P

Tried running antivirus? spyware? Disk cleanup utils - defrag - disk optimizers?
ADZ is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 08:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I have ran everything that I can think of and it still is no help. Other than locking up when I try to use word, it is now working just fine. I feel like I am beating my head against a wall trying to get word to work. Any other programs that can take its place without costing an arm and 2 legs? This computer was given to me because of this problem and several other problems that I finally got working again. The friend that bought it new could not get Dell to help him and it was still under warrenty.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 11-02-2003, 06:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 154
Send a message via Yahoo to daveppeters
Default

I agree with most of the consensus here - the problem is Windows ME. It has a built-in "feature" that randomly causes problems on the computer it is installed on -- ok, not really, but everyone I have talked to or heard of that uses ME says that it gives nothing but mysterious problems. You would be better off by installing a fresh copy of a new OS. I know that is not a very technical answer, but as you can see - most people are telling you the same thing! Good luck anyway.
__________________
IWill XP-333 / 384MB PC2100 DDR / AMD T-Bird 1.33GHz (o/c to 1.40 until I get a better CPU cooler!) / VisionTek GeForce4 MX440 / SB Live! X-Gamer 5.1 / Maxtor 20GB 7200 RPM HD / Toshiba 8X DVD / Sanyo 40/12/40X CD-RW / Win XP Home

http://www.statgfx.com/statgfx/foldi..._original&.jpg
daveppeters is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 12:30 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I gave up on it. Just bought a new computer with XP. I was using XP on another computer and I do like it better than ME.
dhsrcjh is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 10:46 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 51
Default

I just wanted to add that 99% of the time, Word issues can be solved by deleting NORMAL.DOT. that is a template file that is EASILY corrupted... Word will recreate this file the next time it starts.
MojoInKansas is offline  
Old 11-07-2003, 01:30 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 125
Default

I hate to sound stupid, but just where is this file? Would it be in the word templates?
__________________

dhsrcjh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.