Windows and Mac in one system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2003, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Windows and Mac in one system

can Windows and Mac run together in a single computer system?
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 01:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 15
Default

They can through an emulator, but that's it....
__________________

atbear is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Macintosh computers (with system 8.1-9.2) can run Windows '95 - '98 - ME - 2000 through an emulator called Virtual PC v5.0. Macs with OS X 10.x or higher can run Windows XP through Virtual PC v6.0.

I highly reccomend using a PowerMac dual G4 or G5 for this emulator seeing as any slower processor would hinder your ability to move around quickly between the two environments.

But if you're looking to run them both on a PC platform, it's not possible and there is no emulator.
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 05:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mac_mogul
Macintosh computers (with system 8.1-9.2) can run Windows '95 - '98 - ME - 2000 through an emulator called Virtual PC v5.0. Macs with OS X 10.x or higher can run Windows XP through Virtual PC v6.0.

I highly reccomend using a PowerMac dual G4 or G5 for this emulator seeing as any slower processor would hinder your ability to move around quickly between the two environments.

But if you're looking to run them both on a PC platform, it's not possible and there is no emulator.
G5 cant run VPC 6 yet. Just as a side note.

By the way, this has already been discussed here
g5orbust is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 09:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

ok
piggysmile is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

so does that mean IBM PCs and compatible cant run both OS together and only Macs ar capable of it?
piggysmile is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Actually there is an emulator called Basilisk that will run on windows and emulate Mac OS up to 8.1
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 10:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to tavilach
Default

Ooo ahh, 8.1! What a beauty!
__________________
\"Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.\" -Archimedes
tavilach is offline  
Old 09-03-2003, 02:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by piggysmile
so does that mean IBM PCs and compatible cant run both OS together and only Macs ar capable of it?
IBM PCs = x86 PC's.



Can't you run OSX through VMwear? OSX is unix based, so wouldn't that work?
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-05-2003, 03:00 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think it would be possible to design just one OS, and a new type of computer to run Mac AND Windows programs

- Macrosoft hehehe.... -

note: this would take ages to make, probbably be unstable at first, cost a lot, and take a LOOOOONNNNGGGG time to get used to
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.