Windows is looking old - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2006, 10:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think it might be a reg change.

Download these one by one and see what happens. You might need to reboot for some to take affect.

Stuck in Classic View? Undo Now


Restore Themes Functionality
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default

reformatt lol pop the recovery disk in that big bad boy of a rig a make all your troubles go away. Yes i know its going to far but its the easiest way to get piece of mind.
__________________

__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeon® X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 02:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

thats true>_< just a biggggggggg pain I have to put on cds then:\

and no this windows is completely legit , I bought it so I didn't have windows ME anymore lol ick I sure did hate that OS

as I said on my other thread, I had to revalidate my windows OS because of hardware changes. Yet I haven't opened the case for about a year.\ But anyway ya I called and it was successfully revalidated so I donno what the heck.

So download those and do what with them...>_<
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 05:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

bump. Help plz
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:08 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

go into computer management, then go into services, and check the themes service. It manages the frilly 3-D stuff you seek .
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 07:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did you try those files i posted?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 03:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
I think it might be a reg change.

Download these one by one and see what happens. You might need to reboot for some to take affect.

Stuck in Classic View? Undo Now


Restore Themes Functionality
So.....I download them to where....?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 08:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

anywhere. your desktop maybe...
you just need to download, then open them
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:13 AM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

open them both, ok, ok, reboot done. see if any changes were made.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 09:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

thanks for the replies I'll go try that.
__________________

__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.