Windows logo testing & I/O error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2006, 08:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 27
Default Windows logo testing & I/O error

After getting my computer worked on again (eMachine garbage!), I've been installing programs, drivers, and such. During some of the installations, I'll get a message warning me that a certain program/driver has not passed Windows logo testing. I'm aware of the warnings, but almost everything I've got had that message! Is that something I really need to worry about?

Also, before I had my OS restored, I backed up all of my music files and videos to an external hard drive. I hook it up via USB to put the files back on my PC, and an error message reads, "cannot copy file due to I/O error". What does that mean?
__________________

dirgeKananga is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 09:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

always choose continue installation
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 03:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Windows logo testing & I/O error

Quote:
Originally posted by dirgeKananga
Also, before I had my OS restored, I backed up all of my music files and videos to an external hard drive. I hook it up via USB to put the files back on my PC, and an error message reads, "cannot copy file due to I/O error". What does that mean?
What version of Windows? With XP get the latest service pack 2, Windows 2000 get service pack 4. God forbid you run any previous version of Windows.
Law is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 08:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 27
Default

I've got Windows XP w/service pack 2.

I was able to download the videos again, but the music files. I had about 110 hrs of music on there, and I really don't want to rip all those CDs again!

The external HD that I copied them too is normally hooked up to an older computer. I believe it's running Windows XP as well.
dirgeKananga is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.