Windows Live Messenger- How to show big display pics in contact list - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2007, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
Default Windows Live Messenger- How to show big display pics in contact list

This is driving me insane!!! I've compared all the settings to three other machines in the house, and there's no way on turning this feature on...

On my Windows Live Messenger on my PC, when i sign in with one account it views big display pictures next to all the contacts in my contact list. However on Windows Live Messenger on other PC's it doesn't. Anuva strange thing is that if i sign in on my pc with a different live messenger account, it doesn't have the big display pictures next to the contacts. See the pic above. The messenger on the left is what all the other machines in the house look like.

Someone tell me how to get big contact display pics on any windows live messenger! plz! it's a mystery to me! :P

k3n is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 08:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

*** Moving this to the Windows forum... maybe you will get some answers there. ***


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246

Only place I've ever seen the option of large display pictures was with some sort of add-on program I used once...
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 09:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
snypercore's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738

i think its to do with the fonts and stuff, the resolutions. if you can find out how to make the font etc.. bigger the pics will show i just cant remeber how i havnt used live messenger in a while
snypercore is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

That feature doesn't work with the new Live Messenger. They must've disabled it.

It only works with Messenger 7.5 and below.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15

Yeh thats what i thought, but take a look at the picture...

Ive got the latest and newest Windows Live Messenger?

So i must have used a tweaking tool to change something ages ago (but musta forgotten wot i used)?

k3n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.