Windows/Linux Boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2007, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Bumblebee Tuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 213
Default Windows/Linux Boot

I just installed Linux on a separate HDD. When I start my PC, it gives me the option of which OS, to boot to. Linux is first and Windows is second. I would like to change this so Windows will boot first (automatically). Then if I want to go into Linux, I will have to do it manually. Does anyone know how to change this?
__________________

__________________
http://www.bloggerheads.com/mash_qui...er_mulcahy.jpg

AMD Athalon 64bit +3200 2.0GHz
Windows XP Professional
NVidia 9800GTX PCIEx
Creative Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
400Gig HDD
2Gig RAM
19\" LCD Widescreen 4ms
Bumblebee Tuna is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

Yeah, I'm assuming you're using GRUB for your bootloader. Boot into Linux and open a terminal, if you're using GNOME, type "sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst" and if you're using KDE, type "sudo kate /boot/grub/menu.lst".

Then scroll down to where the OS entries are, you'll see that Windows is last, just cut and paste it's entry (the whole block of code that starts with the title line and ends with (I think) chainloader +1. Paste it above Linux's entry. Then save the file, reboot your PC, and it should be fixed.
__________________

__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

Since GRUB is the most popular boot loader, I'll assuming your using that one.

Try this, when the boot selection screen comes up, count the line that your Windows is on. So if they were listed like this, then their respected numbers would be:

0. Ubuntu Linux
1. Windows RG
2. FreeBSD

So the one you want is on line 1. Now that you know this, press 'C' to get the command line interface to grub and type in:

"default 1" without the quotes (number may be different if your Windows was on a different line)

I'm not 100% sure on this, but give it a try and let me know how it works.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

I don't think that will work, I haven't had any success in changing GRUB options unless I boot into Linux. I had a problem when I reinstalled Windows and it installed on a different partition than previously, both OS'es were moved to different partition numbers. I could edit the boot line temporarily to boot, but it wouldn't save from within GRUB.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

I think I'm right... but if you've tried it before... then I guess I'm wrong.

If I wasn't at work right now... I'd test it...

Edit: Though, I believe the "default num" is in that menu.lst file too... if for some reason he would rather have Windows as the second option, but still the default, he can.
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

Can try to use EasyBCD and add a Linux Entry. This will allow you to haev Windows boot first and still dual boot with Linux.

Linux - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-02-2007, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: Windows/Linux Boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by CalcProgrammer1 View Post
Yeah, I'm assuming you're using GRUB for your bootloader. Boot into Linux and open a terminal, if you're using GNOME, type "sudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst" and if you're using KDE, type "sudo kate /boot/grub/menu.lst".

Then scroll down to where the OS entries are, you'll see that Windows is last, just cut and paste it's entry (the whole block of code that starts with the title line and ends with (I think) chainloader +1. Paste it above Linux's entry. Then save the file, reboot your PC, and it should be fixed.
This is the best way to do it. The only thing is that it is absolutely necessary to put your Windows entry before the line that says ### BEGIN AUTOMAGIC KERNELS LIST. This is a section where it automatically adds updated linux kernels to boot to. If you accidentally put it at the top of the Automagic list, it will just put updated kernels above your Windows entry and that will be the default boot. But if you put it before the Automagic line, it will always be on top.

aetherh4cker's method does work as well. The thing about it is that when new kernel updates are "automagically" entered, the line numbers change. You're better off going with the first option of cutting and pasting your Windows entry to the top, unless you know you will never update your kernel.

edit:
You can also change the line in menu.lst that says "timeout" to be whatever number of seconds you want before it automatically boots to the default.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
P5K Premium "Proper Boot Device/Insert Boot Media" s-patrol Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-02-2007 12:37 AM
Multiple boot J9Darkwing Linux and Open Source 4 11-18-2007 04:55 PM
Boot order question AceWriter System Upgrades 0 10-13-2007 12:29 PM
Windows boot nightmare. squirrellym Microsoft Windows and Software 3 10-06-2007 12:12 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.