Windows Installer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2007, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default Windows Installer

Whenever I run a program the installer for another program and I have to click cancel a couple of times before the actual program that I clicked on comes up. Any ideas on how to fix this issue?
__________________

Nitrocrusher is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 11:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Neowin.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 633
Default

let the installer finish its routine. if its unable to finish uninstall and reinstall the program
__________________

ECTech is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 12:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default

This has happened to me a couple of times and I don't want to be uninstalling and reinstalling a very cumbersome program everytime that I run into this issue. What would be causing it to do this?
Nitrocrusher is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That depends. Have you updated the installer to the new 3.1 version thru Windows Updates? How old or new are the applications you are installing and have trouble with?

It is a combination of factors that can cause this. Basically what it comes down to is the OS. The shape of it. A fresh install or a couple year old install without any mainteance. If you keep up with removing cookies and defrags then you should be alright but if you dont do anything but install and uninstall things then your system will be more prone to issues like this.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 01:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Default

I have all of the latest updates and I am meticulous about keeping my computer clean and organized. I usually reformat my hard drive atleast once every 18 months or sooner, and this last install was only about 5 or 6 months ago.
Nitrocrusher is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 03:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

My last suggestion would be to remove and re-install the Windows 3.1 Installer.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.