Windows installation problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-19-2005, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default Windows installation problem!

Note: To install Windows, I have to use 'special' SCSI drivers from my motherboard manufacturer since the version of Windows that I have... Doesn't have them!!

When I was installing Windows, it asked me for the SCSI drivers. OK, I put them in, Windows continues the installation and then, almost at the end (partitioning and formating is over) it comes up with "Can not copy ---HERE'S THE SCSI DRIVER NAME---" and does that 3x for every file (SCSI driver) that needs to be copied.

I ignore this and continue with the installation. Finalizing. Windows restarts. Now I get a blue screen before booting to Windows

"A problem has been detected and windows has shut down to prevent damage to
your computer.
If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen, restart your
computer. If this screen appears
again follow these steps:

Check for viruses on your computer. Remove any newly installed hard
drive or hard drive controllers.
Check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and
Run CHKDSK /f to check for hard drive corruption, and then restart your

Technical Info:
*** Stop: 0x0000007B (0xF7C45640, 0x00000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)"

I searched for the above and came with quite few results. It happens when, EXACTLY, the SCSI drivers can not be found or they are corrupted or when the boot device is innaccesible (NO DRIVER!!!).

Is there a way to install the drivers manually? Where do I paste them, if so?


Krogen is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 04:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22

Woops, forgot my specs:

Albatron K8X800 Pro 2 with 1.06a BIOS motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (ClawHammer)
1024 MB DDRAM (512MB of 3200 and 512MB of 2700)
Gigabyte NVIDIA 6800 128MB DDRAM OC 360MHz proc 730MHz mem
Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM Hard Drive w/8 MB cache
350 Watt Power Supply
5 case fans / runs cool

Krogen is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Try installing Linux first (you can download them for free)
Then install Windows afterwards - If your Linux formats everything without a problem.
turtile is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

hit f6 after you boot from cd. install your scsi (raid) driver with a floppy disc. then finish your install
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Soundmaster2.0's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 190

That error is not fun I get it all the time and have to reinstall windows
Soundmaster2.0 is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 09:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

Maybe search some info from google?
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 06:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22

Originally posted by EricB
hit f6 after you boot from cd. install your scsi (raid) driver with a floppy disc. then finish your install
Yeah, that's exactly what I was doing except that when the installation was almost finished, it gave me an error that it can't copy the drivers (although it could run them since it accessed the drive) from the floppy.

I did google it. I came up with two or three 'good' results that told me something about unattanded cds and being unable to copy drivers when installing from them. The only problem is, I have an original Windows XP Home so I don't think this should give me any errors

Anyways, I'm done, after searching and posting the same topic(s) all over multiple forums and getting very little help (I know, it's no ones fault). After solving couple of problems...

*PC sent to the service*

Krogen is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469

try installing xp minus the extra scsi drivers. Sometimes works...
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
microsoftne is offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22

OK. I finally sent my PC to service. Got it fixed in one day. The problem was... BAD Windows installation disc!!! **** Cyberpower. They suck so bad... Could have fixed it myself in no time with a good Win XP disc.

Krogen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.