Windows Installation on Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CobraKillerGT
Default Windows Installation on Laptop

Alright, so I have a laptop. Nice dell Latitude.

It currently has windows XP on it and the previous user has insane restrictions set on the usage so I want XP off it because I don't know the password to the admin account. Problem resetting it is it doesn't have a CD Drive in it. It's nice and recent too, not an old laptop.

I ripped the windows 2000 install disk (all I have) to a 2GB flash drive and placed it on the laptop and attempted to run it, knowing once it ran it would modify the bootloader and then boot to the setup when the machine went a restarted. This failed mainly because, DUH... windows 2000 disk won't let you install 2000 from the interface if you have a newer version of windows.

I have 2000 ripped to a partition on the hard drive, entire disk. Is there anyway I can tell the PC to boot to the setup disk on the hard drive without having a boot CD or a boot disk (No flop. or CD)
__________________

CobraKillerGT is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Why don't you just buy an external dvd burner and boot from that. You can pick one up for less then $80 here. It will make your life a whole lot easier.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thats the truth.Your gonna need it anyway.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CobraKillerGT
Default

Useless measure. No money and the BIOS doesnt even support booting from external drives. I already checked that first thing.

There has to be a way to tell it to look and boot from the windows 2000 cd I have placed on the H.D., the setup would of done it anyway had i gotten it to run (which it wont because of the version mitch match)
CobraKillerGT is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Do you have a friend with a similar machine that will let you borrow a CD drive to put in and do the install?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CobraKillerGT
Default

Nope... I got it to work, ish. My only problem now is, I can only start the install from Windows, not during boot (long story) and the admin (ex) admin of the machine had privlages set so I can't install it/run the install. I can't install during boot, it doesnt boot from the fricken CD drive. It just doesn't. Not an option.
CobraKillerGT is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

So you have 2000 installed now or os it still XP? If it's XP you can try this trick in the following thread. It works to change the admin password. I have used it myself.

http://techist.com/showthread.php?s=...62#post1028562
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It doesn't have an optical drive? What was Dell thinking??
The General is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 02:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to CobraKillerGT
Default

Great. If only... you know. I had a CD drive to boot from.
__________________

CobraKillerGT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.