windows instalation problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2006, 11:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default windows instalation problems

im having problems with installing both my windows ME and windows XP , the XP right at the start tells me that there is an error and that instalation cannot be proceeded.. with my win ME ,the files are normally installed but when windows is "setting up hardware" and "finalizing the instalation" it gives me the following error "cmdninst has caused an error in SETUPX.DLL" , also a fille spool32 .. i had a hard disk with some bad clusters,so i thought its the problem, i bought a new one, made the partitions and formated it,when i tried 2 install winMe i got the same errors, i dont know if my problem is hardware , bcoz i've installed winme from that cd before and its not damaged..
i dont know whats the prbolem, so can u help me please?? at least does anyone know if its a hardware or software problem and what haedware would it be ??
thanks
__________________

amir is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

are theses oem , retail, or burnt copies of the OS ?

...YOUR RAM COULD BE BAD, Google ramtest86, sorry can not find the link for you now
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 05:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Default

What kind of drive is it. Is it SATA drive? if it is then you will need to go in to the BIOS and chage the SATA setting. I had a simular problem and that was the issue. Is you new hard drive set up as the Master?

I really don't think that it is a memory issue.
djchrisjohnston is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default

First, make sure your system meets the system requirements for XP.

Then, use the Microsoft memory diagnostic to check your RAM.

Open your case and check your motherboard for blown capacitors. (In case you don't already know this - the capacitors are the cylinders on the motherboard. The end should be flat. If it is domed or burnt-looking, it is blown.)
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

SATA?? i dont know what it is .. the cd is not original its burnt ,but it worked normally before .. thanks for ur help ill check out the rams and the hard disk (master/slave)
amir is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 12:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i searched and searched for ramtest86 , but i couldnt find it
can anybody help me with a link ??
amir is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

OOOPS MY FAULT IT IS MEMTEST86
SATA is S erial ATA
where PATA is P arallel ATA or standard HDs
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.