Windows home to pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 01:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default Windows home to pro

Hey i just got windows xp pro sp2 and i want to upgrade from my home sp1...i have a compaq so i used its restore disc to reformat..but it still installs home...how do i delete home and put in pro?
__________________

teknikull is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

just use the new pro disk to reformat and install instead of restore disk.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

i put in the pro disc and booted up and it asked if i wanted to start in safe or normal...still booted home..
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

no you boot off of the disk and format it using the pro cd then it will work.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

http://www.windowsxpprofessional.win...exfullpage.htm
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

still doesnt work...
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you have a brand new oem or retail version of xp pro? Bios is set up to boot off cd first?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

do you get that first screen in the link i posted where it says booting to cd and then the blue screen that starts loading stuff? i wanna make sure you are doing this right do you get that screen?
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 209
Default

i have it set to cd boot first...but it wont read it..it just loads home..i need some way to delet my c drive clean..can u tell me how to do that?
teknikull is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 01:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

The first step is to boot off the XP PRO CD then from there you can format your C drive. Do you have more than one CD-ROM drive? When your in home and insert the XP PRO CD does it prompt you with the XP PRO splash screen?
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.