Windows hanging during boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default Windows hanging during boot

I'm looking at a laptop for a family member that's seriously hanging during boot.

It's a fairly new HP laptop running WinXP SP2....it's taking about 12 minutes to fully boot. Windows starts normally until the desktop loads. The taskbar comes up (partially) and it hangs with very little drive activity for well over 10 minutes. Then the taskbar programs start loading slowly and it finally runs normally after Windows boots fully.

I started in safe mode and it worked normally, so it's got to be a program or application that's loading at boot.

There's really not much junk loaded on the system besides all the preloaded HP crap. I suppose some of that could be the issue.....

What's the best way to diagnose this? Change to selective startup and add apps until it starts screwing up again? If so, what absolutely has to be checked in selective startup to start with?
__________________

canooten is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

download quickstart: http://www.snapfiles.com/get/quickstart.html

eliminate unecessary programs

download MS Bootvis: http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=664

trace > next boot + driver delays > ok

after reboot, don't do ANYTHING until bootvis has opened again and results are displayed. then:

trace > optimize system > reboot now
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Dump everything in your prefetch folder too. Run msconfig and see what is trying to load on startup. And defrag.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 09:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Wasn't sure exactly how Quickstart worked, so I didn't do anything with that, but Bootvis took care of a good bit of the problem. After optimizing it cut the boot time down to only a couple of minutes. I was then able to uninstall some programs (found that there were two antivirus programs installed) and then whittled down some start programs via selective startup and now it's booting pretty fast. Not sure that it's as fast as it should be, but it's worlds better than it was.
canooten is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

What's the main spec? You probably have Norton running?

Even though it's new, it wouldn't take that long (10 minute) to load, come on (a P3 650Mhz loads XP faster than that). So I suggest doing what the above users are saying. And also do a spyware scan, you can never be to sure.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 04:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default

It did have Norton on it (as well as AVG) and that was some of the problem. Well, 2 parts of it...2 AV programs and one of them was Norton.
canooten is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 07:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yea norton is a huge system hog. AVG is a top notch FREE virus scanner that doesnt use much resources. use it.
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.