Windows freeze. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2005, 11:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14
Default Windows freeze.

I've got a guy who is using a dell latitude d505 with integrated wireless. His laptop is freezing up occasionally. It seems to happen when he gets a call on his 2.4GHz telephone. Not just wireless interference with his access point but the system freezes and cannot even shutdown. Only way to reboot is to remove the battery. Any ideas.

ftrunks57 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

i'd first try to confirm that its the telephone that's cause the laptop to freeze. Take the laptop away from the phone and run it for an extended period of time, over night should be good.

office politics is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14

I'm not absolutely positive that it is the phone that's causing the problem. It just the last couple of time the laptop froze, the phone was ringing. Also, it does not freeze while it is in our work building using our wireless. Only in the home with a 2.4GHz telephone.
ftrunks57 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Try changing the channels on the phone and on the wireless router
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 04:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 14

I have done channel changing and that only affects the amount of interference to the access point. However, the freezing still occurs even without a wireless access point available. So if you take away the wireless router, still freezing. I'm trying to avoid a reinstallation of OS.
ftrunks57 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.