Windows Folder at Startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 02:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default Windows Folder at Startup

Hello,

Whenever I start my computer, the WINDOWS folder pops up. What causes this, and how can I disable it?

Thanks in advance.
__________________

eraemia is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

System32 Folder Opens Upon Boot


Run that and reboot and let me know if it works.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Hey,

Thanks for your quick reply. After running that file, a dialog box titled "Finished" immediately popped up, saying "This script cannot repair your issue. The expected Registry value was not found."

I am not sure what that means. Any idea?

Thanks.
eraemia is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is it the system 32 folder?

C:\WINDOWS <---- This

or

C:\WINDOWS\system32 <---- This

?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

The C:\WINDOWS folder pops up.
eraemia is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 02:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

go to start, run, type msconfig, go to startup tab, post me a screen shot or click disable all, recheck your antivirus and reboot.

if you are not sure what to uncheck or recheck, post me a screen shot
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Hey,

I'm not sure what to uncheck, so here are the screenshots of my startup tab:

01
02
03
04

Thanks.
eraemia is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I think I see your problem in pic 2. See where it says c:\Windows\? Thats what is making it come up.

Now click on disable all

Now go to where is says location, that bar right next to location, put your mouse on it until you can move the bar over to the right to expand the entries and then go back and check everthing that says norton or symantec. Reboot and that folder shouldnt reappear.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks, the Windows Folder no longer appears, but now, the System Configuration Utility appears since I am in a "Selective Startup" mode. When I went back to the Startup tab, many items were selected too. Before restarting, following your suggestion, I only selected Symantec/Norton items (there were 2 I checked).
eraemia is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 03:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

ok. when that comes up, just put a check mark in the box and click ok and it wont appear the next time you reboot/restart.

If I were you, I would run msconfig cleanup to get rid of all those invalid reg entries that you dont need any more. You will probably notice your system is a little faster since you dont have all those startup items any more. You saud they are checked again right? if so, go back and only leave checked your antivirus, click apply, but dont reboot yet, run msconfig cleanup, click select all, the click clean up selected, now reboot and all those entries will be gone.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.