windows firewall down? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2006, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default windows firewall down?

basically, i don't know if its always been liek this, but i can't activate my firewall. i recently got rid of some trojans so i don't know if i affected this somehow, or if its always been like this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg firewall.jpg (72.2 KB, 30 views)
__________________

xtxoxpxd is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Read the top:

"For your security, some settings are controlled by Group Policy".

Try logging in as an administrator with full priviledges.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

my user account is the computer administator.
xtxoxpxd is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default

Im not sure what else to say, it looks like you have some settings disabled, check to see if you really have all your admin settings.
__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

how would i check that? i'm pretty sure i do, my accoutns the only user account.
xtxoxpxd is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default

start > control panel

Someplace in there.
__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Click Start -> Control Panel -> User Accounts

Search for your usename, and it will say "limited account" or "System Administrator"
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

it says administrator.
xtxoxpxd is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

refer to this:

http://www.utexas.edu/its/windows/re...sable-wfw.html

https://thesource.ofallevil.com/tech...p2/mngwfw.mspx
talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Default

read through both of those but can't find how to actually access group policy. gpedit.msc apparently is an outdated command.
__________________

xtxoxpxd is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.